The Mane Story

16 Dec

I am currently sporting a bra-strap-length hair. This has been the longest I’ve grown my hair after 2006 for my college graduation picture.

Eons ago

This was eons ago back in 2007. Pardon the grime, our maid broke the original frame the school gave me. I don’t know how it got that dirty, I wasn’t home when that happened.

Truth is, I hate growing my hair long! Why? Because I hate tying it up on a bun and I hate just letting it flow and blocking my sight. My long hair also lacks volume that it just lays flat like a doggie playing dead! And in between summer and rainy seasons, my scalp breaks into oil and flakes making a winter wonderland out of my shoulders! I hate it!!!

You may ask me why I’m still keeping my hair long. I know that there’s no hiding the fact that I’m fat in the face as much as my body because most times I put my hair up in a bun and marinate it with either a styling mousse or hairspray to achieve a wavy ‘do. Some say that sporting a volumized mane may emphasize one’s round face and chubby cheeks more. That’s according to beauty experts, but I don’t care because I think I still look good with wavy hair! Putting up my hair in a bun is more like for convenience because as I mentioned earlier, I don’t want hair on my mouth when I’m eating or speaking.

Pardon the duckface, but this is how my hair gets unruly and I don't mind it, really. Photo courtesy of Pop Picture. And yes that's my sweetart! Yiiiihee! :P

Pardon the duckface, but this is how my hair gets unruly and I don’t really mind. Photo courtesy of Pop Picture. And yes, that’s my sweetart! Yiiiihee! 😀 

Now that 2013 is fast approaching, and with a myriad of illnesses that I went through this year, I suppose it’s high time for me to lose weight not because I want to look good and I want to fit in nice clothes, but because I want to live long and to bear kids and watch and enjoy them grow. Yikes! So as a reward after losing weight next year, I plan to chop off my long tresses into something like this:

My pixie-cut hair peg. Photo courtesy of Daily Makeover

My pixie-cut hair peg. Photo courtesy of Daily Makeover.

It’s fun and practical to have a short hair!!! The last time I had my hair cut short was in second year high school because the salon lady said it will look good on me. I believed her and yes, it suits me and I liked it (unfortunately I don’t have a photo of me with short hair ready, so sorry!) I won’t have to trouble myself with a million-and-one dandruff shampoo. And I love how it needs little maintenance compared to having a flowing coiffure that gets tangled in the long run because I really don’t like combing my hair! At work, I get a lot of “Magsuklay ka naman!” and “Mahangin ba sa labas?” comments from colleagues. But hey, my hair=my life! Well, unless I’m Skype-meeting with my boss then I have to pretty up, hehe!

What do you think? 🙂

One Response to “The Mane Story”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The road to pixie « THIS IS NOT KASSY - 6 January 13

    […] today I had my hair cut. No no no, not the über short hair I blogged about previously! Well, I was getting uncomfortable with my bra-length locks that I decided to have it snipped off […]

Leave a Reply

